Quora – My new favorite habit

I know a lot has been written about Quora. Lots of it is positive, some negative. Like anything else, I guess its a matter of perspective and time before we will all see whether they are the next great social thing or a mere blip on the proverbial radar. I for one really enjoy the format. The long form response not only allows for more color on any topic, but helps to provide a framework for the entire string. Additionally, I have seen a tremendous amount of solid information in the responses. Admittedly, I have spent the majority of my time on the entrepreneurship, start-up and venture boards, with an occasional jump to wine. Believe it or not, they are not as far removed as you might think! What has been a real surprise has been the quality of the information so far, the intelligent discussions as if people actually think about their answers. I contrast this to the public boards at most news, information and political sites that are at best 50% junk or pontification. Secondly, the social aspect is contagious. I feel like I need to check in and make sure I post a couple of times per week. This isn’t out of a desire or need to hear myself speak, but rather I want to support the community. I consider it part of our responsibility as users. Matter of fact, it could be the first true crowd sourced incubator. The information available for start up entrepreneurs is immense and very usable. On top of that you have some of the worlds finest minds available to you. From Fred Wilson to Mark Suster and everyone in between. Its like walking into the stadium and getting to talk to Albert Pujols or Joe Mauer about hitting. I find myself mystically drawn back on a daily basis, if nothing else, to acquire more learning for myself to be a better investor and partner to our portfolio companies. I hope this continues, Quora is a remarkable experience.

About cavacapital

Cava Capital is a venture capital firm targeting go to market stage investments (series A and B) in next generation marketing solutions companies primarily in the Metro New York region. We are business builders, actively assisting our CEO's in the critical areas of Sales, Business Development and team building, bringing our exceptional and deep network to each and every portfolio company to help drive success. We prefer enterprise facing companies, but aren't scared off by the new consumer models.
This entry was posted in Social Media, Venture Investing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment